The previously known District of Louisiana became the Louisiana Territory.

The Territory of Louisiana originated in a congressional act of March 26, 1804, under which Congress divided the 1803 Louisiana Purchase at thirty-three degrees of north latitude, created the Territory of Orleans in the south, and made the northern portion the District of Louisiana, placing it under the government of the Territory of Indiana to be administered as a separate unit.