Alaska became the 49th State to join the United States of America.

The largest state admitted to the Union, Alaska became the 49th state in 1959 and is located in the northwest region of North America. Acquired by the United States in 1867, the territory was dubbed “Seward’s Folly” after the U.S. secretary of state who arranged to purchase the land from Russia.