US President George Washington signed the Postal Service Act.

Once signed, the United States Post Office became a cabinet position under the presidency. The Postal Service later became an independent corporation in 1971.

On February 20, 1792, President George Washington signs legislation renewing the United States Post Office as a cabinet department led by the postmaster general, guaranteeing inexpensive delivery of all newspapers, stipulating the right to privacy and granting Congress the ability to expand postal service to new areas of the nation.