President Ulysses S. authorized the establishment of the United States National Weather Service (NWS).

The NWS responsibility was placed onto the Secretary of War as the military was the most reliable option for conducting prompt, accurate, and regular observations.

On Feb. 9, 1870, President Ulysses S. Grant signed the bill into law, establishing the National Weather Service. Meyer would become the first director. Since the National Weather Service was established in 1870, it has continued advancements by forecasting with satellites in the 20th century, later advancing with 21st-century models and systems.