Estonia joined the Eurozone and adopted the Euro as its currency.

For many people in Estonia, the adoption of the Euro was the final proof that they had finally separated as a nation from the Soviet Union.

Estonia is the third ex-communist country to embrace the euro Estonia has become the 17th member of the eurozone – the first ex-Soviet state to adopt the EU single currency. The changeover from the kroon to the euro started at midnight (2200 GMT) in the small Baltic nation of 1.3m people.